Balsamine

A theatre in its P.U.R.e state

Pooled. Utopian. Responsible.

fr

An ethical project for the 5 upcoming seasons.

A Balsa in a purified, purged, pureed state, on certain evenings and depending on the menus. Pure theatre. As it is.

Pooled, because open to the world, ready to receive the other in its diversity, in its complexity. In dialogue, because that is the only route towards appeasement.

The only path possible is accessibility to all, even to the bees which populate our roof. The Balsa is a place that changes and grows with the artists who inhabit it, with the audience that passes through it. The Balsa ripens and infects through its libertarian spirit. The choice is clear; we are a soil for foreign and reflective languages, a place where one can lose oneself to better discover oneself.

Utopian, what could be more logical? The risk of seeing, the risk of doing, the risk of saying and hearing, that is what utopia is: offering a development to singular works. A place which takes risks because this involves living more and there is no risk without the human human who takes that risk, who runs that risk. Creations which the stage the narratives which our era manufactures. Fragmentary, hybrid narratives. To give them time, to give them space.

Responsible, finally. It is a green house, which attempts through its choices to respect human beings and nature, to live within a sustainable development and to invest its means in creativity in its richest forms. Yesterday, today and tomorrow.

Team

General and artistic management
Monica Gomes
Artistic consultant
Fabien Dehasseler
Financial and administrative management
Morgan Brunéa
General coordination – Communication – Welcoming companies
Fanny Arvieu
Press – Promotion – Public relations
Irène Polimeridis
Actress and Romanist – Mediation for schools and associations
Noemi Tiberghien
Director and author – Associate artist
Martine Wijckaert
Artistic and administrative residency
Théâtre du Tilleul
Technical management
Jef Philips
Stage manager
Rémy Urbain
Trainee stage manager
Brice Agnès
Bar manager
Franck Crabbé
Associate stage photographer
Hichem Dahes
Associate graphic designers
Open Source Publishing
Associate artist, visuals season 17-18
Julie Kern Donck

Renting la Balsamine

Situated in a stone's throw from the European institutions, La Balsamine can offer you several of its spaces, comprising a technical and professional infrastructure as well as a convivial bar.

Whether you are organizing a seminar, a workshop, a training day, a birthday or a wedding, contact us with your query and we will advise you. We will put at your disposal the most suitable space, equipment of the highest quality and a professional technical team.


More info

Partners

The Balsamine is subsidized by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and is part of the Choreographic Stages (Scènes chorégraphiques) network of the French-Speaking Community Commission (CoCoF) of the Brussels-Capital Region.

The Balsamine is also supported by Wallonia-Brussels Theatre/Dance and Wallonia-Brussels International.

The Balsamine is a signatory of the United Stages charter.

To proclaim loud and clear its support for civilian populations in danger pretty much everywhere in the world, the victims of violence and any other form of endangerment, many partners of the Belgian cultural sector have created an ethical charter and the UNITED STAGES label. The aim is to bring together and use the active forces of the performing arts and of community associations, as well as the closeness they maintain with their audiences, to initiate concrete actions bearing positive change for their beneficiaries. Various actions will be set up, at the Balsamine and in other venues.

More information on Facebook United Stages Belgium.

An initiative of Action Sud CCR, Choux de Bruxelles, Globe Aroma, Kaaitheater, La Bellone, La Vénerie, La Tentation, Le boson, Les Midis de la poésie, MET-X, Passa Porta, Théâtre de l’Ancre, Théâtre La Balsamine, Théâtre Océan Nord, Théâtre Varia, Théâtre 140 …

History

The theatre La Balsamine was founded by Martine Wijckaert in 1974. At the beginning it was a simple legal entity, a non-profit organisation, making it possible to obtain subsidies for artistic creation.

The theatre thus created had neither a venue nor a form of residency within another existing structure. It nevertheless obtained subsidies on an ad hoc basis, enabling Martine Wijckaert’s first shows to be produced. These productions were born from a mode of urban nomadism: abandoned sites became so many natural sets on which the performances carried out an intervention.

In 1981, La Balsamine theatre moved, in a temporarily definitive way, into the wasteland of the former Dailly barracks.

historique 1

These barracks had been abandoned for several years and they were discovered in their original state. An impressive perimeter of late-nineteenth-century buildings encircles an interior park which had become wild again. The site has all the virtues of a fictive city and this quality invited the theatre to establish itself there.

There then began a ‘wild’ period during which a very large number of premises were taken over for their raw spatial value and where made-to-measure shows came into being, as so many unique and totally ephemeral interventions on the architecture.

Theatre, visual art and music mixed and brought together on the site numerous artists discovering there a work and experimentation residency.

At the same time as managing La Balsamine, established in the barracks, Martine Wijckaert pursued her own artistic work there.

Activity would also centre on one of the barracks’ particular sites, baptized the ‘amphitheatre’, then rapidly the ‘amphi’, because of its architectural characteristics: it is in effect a former military auditorium, structured in a semicircle.

historique 2

-

historique 3

-

The first of the amphi’s developments were carried out according to the technique of absolute recycling, the necessary and still useable equipment being dismantled from other wings of the barracks and being reassembled in the amphi after being transformed.

In 1994, Martine Wijckaert entrusted the theatre’s artistic management to Christian Machiels and remained there in her capacity as associate artist. The current theatre, of a contemporary style having nevertheless retained the singularity of the original theatre, dates from 2001 and is the work of architect Francis Metzger, for which he took 3rd prize in architecture at the Costa Rica Biennale. Christian Machiels’ programme was focused entirely on the performing arts and on fledgling theatre and contemporary dance companies.

Website and season archives

La Balsamine

Un théâtre à l’état P.U.R.

Partagé. Utopique. Responsable.

en

Un projet éthique pour les 5 saisons à venir.

Une Balsa à la mine épurée, apurée, en purée, certains soirs et selon les menus. Pur jus, pur théâtre. En l’état.

Partagé, parce qu’ouvert sur le monde, prêt à recevoir l’autre dans sa diversité, dans sa complexité. En dialogue, car c’est la seule voie de l’apaisement.

Le seul chemin possible, c’est l’accessibilité à tous, même aux abeilles qui peuplent notre toit. La Balsa est un lieu qui change et grandit avec les artistes qui l’habitent, avec les publics qui la traversent. La Balsa mûrit et contamine par son esprit libertaire. Nous sommes une terre pour les langues étranges et réfléchissantes, un endroit où l’on peut se perdre et mieux se retrouver.

Utopique, quoi de plus logique. Le risque de voir, le risque de faire, le risque de dire et d’entendre, c’est ça l’utopie : offrir un développement à des œuvres singulières. Une scène de toutes les aventures. Un lieu qui risque car c’est vivre plus et il n’y a pas de risque sans l’humain qui le prend, qui le court. Des créations qui mettent en scène les narrations que notre époque fabrique. Des narrations fragmentaires, hybrides. Leur donner du temps, de l’espace.

Responsable, enfin. C’est une maison verte, qui tente par ses choix de respecter les hommes et la nature, de vivre dans un développement durable et d’investir ses moyens dans tout ce que la créativité a de plus riche. Hier, aujourd’hui et demain.

Équipe

Direction générale et artistique
Monica Gomes
Conseiller artistique
Fabien Dehasseler
Direction financière et administrative
Morgan Brunéa
Coordination générale, communication et accueil compagnies
Fanny Arvieu
Presse, promotion et relations publiques
Irène Polimeridis
Comédienne et romaniste - Médiation écoles et associations
Noemi Tiberghien
Metteur en scène et auteur - Artiste associée
Martine Wijckaert
Résidence artistique et administrative
Théâtre du Tilleul
Direction technique
Jef Philips
Régisseur
Rémy Urbain
Régisseur stagiaire
Brice Agnès
Responsable bar
Franck Crabbé
Photographe de plateau associé
Hichem Dahes
Designers graphique associés
Open Source Publishing
Artiste associée, visuels de la saison 17-18
Julie Kern Donck

Location des espaces

Située à quelques pas des institutions européennes, la Balsamine vous propose plusieurs de ses espaces intégrant une infrastructure technique et professionnelle ainsi qu’un bar convivial.

Séminaires, workshops, mariages, anniversaires, formations… Proposez-nous vos événements et nous vous conseillerons.


Plus d'infos

Partenaires

La Balsamine est subventionnée par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et fait partie du réseau des Scènes chorégraphiques de la Commission Communautaire française de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

La Balsamine reçoit aussi le soutien de Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse et de Wallonie-Bruxelles International.

La Balsamine est signataire de la charte United Stages.

Pour exprimer haut et fort son soutien aux populations civiles en danger un peu partout dans le monde, victimes de violences ou de toute autre forme de mise en danger, de nombreux partenaires du secteur culturel belge ont créé une charte éthique et le label UNITED STAGES. Le but est de rassembler et d’utiliser les forces vives des arts vivants et du monde associatif ainsi que la proximité qu’ils entretiennent avec leurs publics pour initier des actions concrètes porteuses d’un changement positif pour leurs bénéficiaires. Diverses actions vont être mises en place, à la Balsamine, comme dans d’autres lieux.

Plus d’informations sur Facebook United Stages Belgium.

Une initiative de Action Sud CCR, Choux de Bruxelles, Globe Aroma, Kaaitheater, La Bellone, La Vénerie, La Tentation, Le boson, Les Midis de la poésie, MET-X, Passa Porta, Théâtre de l’Ancre, Théâtre la Balsamine, Théâtre Océan Nord, Théâtre Varia, Théâtre 140…

Historique

Le théâtre de la Balsamine est fondé par Martine Wijckaert en 1974. Il s’agit au départ d’une simple structure juridique, une asbl, permettant l’obtention de subsides à la création.

Le théâtre ainsi créé ne dispose d’aucun lieu ni forme de résidence au sein d’une autre structure existante. Il obtient cependant des subsides au coup par coup permettant la réalisation des premiers spectacles de Martine Wijckaert. Ces réalisations naissent d’un mode de nomadisme urbain: des sites à l’abandon deviennent autant de décors naturels sur lesquels les spectacles opèrent une intervention.

En 1981, le théâtre de la Balsamine s’installe de manière provisoirement définitive dans la friche des anciennes casernes Dailly.

historique 1

Ces casernes ont été abandonnées depuis plusieurs années et elles sont découvertes dans leur jus. Un impressionnant périmètre de bâtiments fin XIXe cerne un parc intérieur redevenu sauvage. Le site a toutes les vertus d’une cité de la fiction et cette qualité invite le théâtre à s’y installer.

Commence alors une période dite sauvage durant laquelle de très nombreux lieux seront investis pour leur valeur spatiale brute et où naîtront des spectacles sur mesure, comme autant d’interventions uniques et totalement éphémères sur l’architecture.

Théâtre, art plastique et musique se mêlent et rassemblent sur le site de nombreux artistes y trouvant résidence de travail et d’expérimentation.

Tout en dirigeant la Balsamine installée dans les casernes, Martine Wijckaert y poursuit son travail artistique propre.

L’activité va également se centraliser sur un lieu particulier de la caserne, baptisé « amphithéâtre » puis rapidement « amphi », en raison de ses caractéristiques architecturales : il s’agit en effet d’un ancien auditorium militaire, structuré en hémicycle.

historique 2

-

historique 3

-

Les premiers aménagements de l’amphi se feront selon la technique du recyclage absolu, le matériel nécessaire et encore utilisable étant démonté dans d’autres ailes de la caserne et remonté après transformation dans l’amphi.

En 1994, Martine Wijckaert confie la direction artistique du théâtre à Christian Machiels et y demeure en qualité d’artiste associée. Le théâtre actuel, d'un style contemporain ayant conservé toutefois la singularité de la salle primitive, date de 2001 et est l'œuvre de l'architecte Francis Metzger, pour laquelle il a reçu le 3e prix d’architecture à la biennale du Costa Rica. La programmation de Christian Machiels a été tout entière dévolue aux arts du spectacle et aux jeunes compagnies de théâtre et de danse contemporaine.

Archives site web